~ NOTICE ~

DUTY TO REPORT ABUSE, NEGLECT, OR EXPLOITATION

Omnibus Adult Protection Act
Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976 amended 2006 §43-35-5 et. seq.

All health care professionals and allied health professionals, staff or volunteers of an adult
day care center or a facility, law enforcement officers, public assistance workers and care
givers having knowledge or reason to believe that a vulnerable adult (18 years of age or
older) has been or is likely to be abused, neglected or exploited shall report the incident
pursuant to South Carolina Code of Laws §43-35-25. Failure to report such an incident may
result in criminal charges according to §43-35-85(A). Reports must be made within 24 hours
or the next working day.

X

| Violations of residents’ rights (to include
verbal abuse), standards of care, or quality
of life issues must be reported to the:

State Long Term Care Ombudsman
Program |

Lieutenant Governor’s Office on Aging
1301 Gervais Street, Suite 200
Columbia, SC 29201

(803) 734-9900
or
1-800-868-9095

FAX: (803) 734-9988

Each nursing care facility, community residential care facility, psychiatric hospital or
residential program operated or contracted for operation by the South Carolina Department of
Mental Health or the South Carolina Department of Disabilities and Special Needs, operating
under the provisions of the Omnibus Adult Protection Act, is required to display this notice
prominently for the benefit of consumers, clients, patients, personnel and families according
to the South Carolina Code of Laws §43-35-65.
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