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MEDICAID BULLETIN 
 
 
 
 
 
TO:  Medicaid Providers of Personal Care II Services 
 
SUBJECT: I. CLTC: Reimbursement Changes for Personal Care II Services 

II. Changes in Scopes of Service for Personal Care Services   

 
 
I. CLTC:  Reimbursement Changes for Personal Care Services  
 

The South Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (SCDHHS) will 
increase the rate of reimbursement for Personal Care II services beginning with dates 
of service on or after July 1, 2006.  The current Personal Care II rate will be 
increased from $12.80 per hour to $14.80 per hour. 
 
Claims for participants in the Community Choices, Mechanical Ventilation, HIV/AIDS 
waivers and children’s personal care aide program will continue to be filed through the 
Care Call system. Claims may not be filed outside of the Care Call system for 
these participants. The following table lists the current procedure code utilized in 
each waiver and new rate effective with dates of service on and after July 1, 2006: 

 
 

 

Program 

 

Procedure 

Code 

 

Procedure 

Description 

Reimbursement 

Effective 

July 1, 2006 

Community Choices T1019 Personal Care II $14.80/hour 

HIV/AIDS T1019 
 

Personal Care II $14.80/hour 

Mechanical Ventilation T1019 Personal Care II $14.80/hour 

Children’s Nursing Service T1019 Personal Care II $14.80/hour 

Mental Retardation/ 

Related Disabilities 

T1019 Personal Care II $14.80/hour 
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II. Changes in Scopes of Service for Personal Care Services   

 
CLTC will be sending amended contracts to all providers to sign.  The most recent 
contract amendments that CLTC is requiring of all personal care providers include: 

 
1. The rate increase will be included in the contract amendment. 
 
2. Beginning July 1, 2006, all agency providers will be required to perform criminal 

background checks for any new hires providing direct care services. Potential 
employees with felony convictions cannot be hired.  Hiring of employees with 
misdemeanor convictions will be at the discretion of the provider.   

 
3. Effective July 1, 2006, personal care workers will not be allowed to transport 

waiver participants.  Personal care workers may still provide escort services if it 
is a part of the care plan.  

 
If you have any questions concerning the above information, please contact your 
Program Manager at (803) 898-2590.   
 
Thank you for your continued participation in the South Carolina Medicaid program. 
 
 
 
       /s/ 
 

Robert M. Kerr 
Director 

 
RMK/bwsk 
 
 

NOTE:   To receive Medicaid bulletins by email or to sign up for Electronic Funds Transfer of 

your Medicaid payment, please go to the following link for instructions: 
 http://www.scdhhs.gov/dhhsnew/QLEbulletins.asp 


