Actions Regarding Licensed Dietitian Providers.



The South Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (SCDHHS), pursuant to the requirement of 42 CFR 447.205, gives notice of the following actions regarding Licensed Dietitian providers.

Effective for service dates on or after, April 1, 2013, SCDHHS will make the following changes. Permanent licensed Dietitians may enroll as individual providers to receive direct reimbursement for Medicaid services provided in accordance with the South Carolina Dietetics Licensure Act. Reimbursement will be 65 percent of the South Carolina Medicaid physician fee schedule and will not be effective until a bulletin is released with enrollment instructions. This change is being made to enhance the delivery of preventative services in the area of Obesity management and to address the needs of the Medicaid population of South Carolina.

The SCDHHS projects that based upon the above action, annual aggregate expenditures will increase by approximately $8.0 million.

Copies of this notice are available at each County Department of Health and Human services office and at for public review. Additional information concerning this action is available upon request at the address cited below.

Any written comments submitted may be reviewed by the public at the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Physician Services, 1801 Main Street, Columbia, South Carolina, Monday through Friday between the hours of 9:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M.

Print Version

Report Fraud