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Financial Management Group

March 23, 2021

Joshua D. Baker, Director

Department of Health & Human Services
1801 Main Street

Columbia, SC 29201

Reference: TN 20-0010
Dear Mr. Baker:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number 20-0010. This amendment will provide an increase to rates for
Medicaid nursing facility providers relating to COVID-19 occupancy issues, COVID-19 employee
testing costs, and updated base year cost reports. Effective January 1, 2021, facility specific COVID-
19 Add-On services will be eliminated from the reimbursement rate. The state developed a base rate
increase in conjunction with various stakeholders that disperses the funds more equitably to providers
that need it as opposed to a blanket add-on. The state is also increasing the capital per diem rate
effective October 1, 2020.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.

This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment SC-20-0010 is approved effective October
1, 2020. The CMS-179 (HCFA-179) and the plan pages are attached.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Christie Erickson at
(410)786-8441 or christie.erickson@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Frances 7. WeCoullts
For ’ A%

Rory Howe
Acting Director


mailto:christie.erickson@cms.hhs.gov

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

FORM APPROVED
OMB NO. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF
STATE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

| 2. STATE
South Carolina

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:
20-0010

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
October 1, 2020 Fanvary ;2621

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

] NEW STATE PLAN

[J AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

[X] AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:
42 CFR Subpart C (Part 447.250)

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: ($47.0 million x 73.73%)
a. FFY 2021  $34-F Miltion $34,700,00
b. FFY 2022 SRatesto-berebased $24,100,00

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:

Attachment 4.19-D pages, 5, 11, 11a (New Page), 12, 12a (New Page), 13,
14, 15, 17, 17a, 26a, 26b, 26¢, 27, 28a, 28b, 28¢, 31, 32, 34

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):

Attachment 4.19-D pages, 5, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 17a, 26a, 26b,
26¢, 27, 28a, 28b, 28¢, 31,32, 34

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

COVID-19 Nursing Facility Rate Update Effective October 1, 2020 andJanuary15-2021,

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One):
[] GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
[] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
[] NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

X} OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
Mr. Baker was designated by the Governor
to review and approve all State Plans

. /)
12. SIGNATUREQF STXTE AGE OFFICIAL:

13. TYPED'NAME: o v
Joskfia D. Baker

14. TITLE:
Director

15. DATE SUBMITTED:
December 29, 2020

16. RETURN TO:

South Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
Post Office Box 8206
Columbia, SC 29202-8206

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17. DATE RECEIVED:
December 29, 2020

18. DATE APPROVED:
3/23/21

PLAN APPROVED — ONE COPY ATTACHED

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:
October 1, 2020

20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL:

21. TYPED NAME:
Rory Howe

Frances 7’%/)/4//&4&% lfoi
22. TITLE: J
Acting Director, Financial Management Group

23. REMARKS:

The State authorizes pen and ink changes on 3/5/2021 for the following blocks below -

Block 4: Proposedeffective Date- removethe Januaryl, 2021date
Block 7: FederaBudgetimpact- changeFFY 2021to $34,700,00

changeFFY 2022to $24,100,00
Block 10: Subjectof Amendment removethe Januaryl, 2021date

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92)


EODK
Line

EODK
Line

EODK
Line

EODK
Line

EODK
Typewritten Text
$34,700,000

EODK
Typewritten Text
$24,100,000

EODK
Typewritten Text
The State authorizes pen and ink changes on 3/5/2021 for the following blocks below - 

EODK
Typewritten Text
Block 4: Proposed Effective Date - remove the January 1, 2021 date
Block 7: Federal Budget Impact -   change FFY 2021 to $34,700,000
                                                         change FFY 2022 to $24,100,000
Block 10: Subject of Amendment - remove the January 1, 2021 date


EODK
Typewritten Text



EODK
Typewritten Text
December 29, 2020

EODK
Typewritten Text
October 1, 2020

EODK
Typewritten Text
Rory Howe

EODK
Typewritten Text
Acting Director, Financial Management Group


ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
Page 5
Revised 10/01/20

(2) Calculation of FRV Capital Per Diem Rate — The new value
construction cost per square foot shall be established at
$215.55 prior to the Location Factor adjustment. For the
FRV Capital Per Diem rate effective October 1, 2019 and
annually thereafter, the new construction cost of $215.55
per square foot will be trended forward based on the
historical cost index factor each October 1st as published
annually in the RSMeans Construction Cost Data publication
(October 1st, current year divided by October 1st, previous
year). Effective October 1, 2020 the adjusted new
construction cost per square foot will amount to $222.96.
The standard square footage minimum and maximums per age
group per bed, the $7,000 addition per Medicaid certified
bed for equipment, and the 7.50% land value to be added to
the fixed capital replacement was established in
partnership with the state’s nursing facility industry. The
FRV Capital Per Diem rate is calculated as follows:

a) First, determine the square footage that will be used
in the computation. The square footage that will be
used will be the greater of the actual measured gross
square footage or the square footage determined by
multiplying the number of Medicaid certified beds by
the minimum square footage amount per room of 275.
However in no event can the square footage used in
the payment calculation exceed the maximum square
footage ceiling amount per age group multiplied by
the number of Medicaid certified beds. For
clarification purposes, nursing Tacilities are
allowed to include the square footage related to
other facilities on the campus that are used to
provide patient care related services such as
kitchen or Jlaundry facilities. However, the
square footage of “out buildings” used for
storage purposes cannot be included. In the event
that a nursing facility fails to provide its
required square footage data, the Medicaid Agency
will determine the square footage at the minimum
square Tootage allowance per bed along with the
use of a thirty (30) year life.

b) Next, to determine the New Building Value Cost, first
multiply the square footage determined in step a)
above by $222.96. To account for the Location Factor
of each NF, apply the location factor as provided in
the 2018 RSMeans Construction Cost Data publication
against the amount calculated above. Location Factors
are determined by the state in which the NF is
located and the first three digits of the NF’s zip
code. The Location Factors will be updated annually
based upon the base year cost reporting period FYE
date.

c) Next, to determine the Moveable Equipment Replacement
Value, multiply the number of Medicaid certified beds
for each NF by $7,000. Add this calculated amount to
the New Building Value Cost as determined in step b)
above to arrive at the Building and Equipment
Replacement Value for each NF.

SC 20-0010

EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/01/20
RO APPROVED: 3/23/21
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A. REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY TO BE USED IN THE CALCULATION OF THE
MEDICAID REIMBURSEMENT RATES

A prospective rate shall be established for each nursing facility
separately based on the facility"s cost report, and upon the
standard costs which are developed 1iIn accordance with the
methodology described below. In the event that audit adjustments
are made to cost reports in accordance with Title XIX and Title
XVII1 Program rules, regulations, policies and procedures, the rate
of payment will be established so as to be consistent with the
facility™s cost as audited. In the event that such adjustment is
made subsequent to the date that a facility was paid an incorrect
rate based on unaudited costs, the facility will be liable to repay
to the South Carolina Department of Health and Human Services the
difference between the audited rate and the interim rate for the
contract period. In a case In which an audited rate exceeds the
interim rate, the South Carolina Department of Health and Human
Services will be liable to repay the facility the difference between
the audited rate and the interim rate for the contract periods
beginning on or after October 1, 1994.

Effective October 1, 2010, nursing facilities which do not incur an
annual Medicaid utilization in excess of 3,000 patient days will
receive a prospective payment rate which will represent the weighted
average industry rate at the beginning of each rate cycle. This rate
will not be subject to change as a result of any field audit, but
will be subject to change based on the lower of cost or charges test
to ensure compliance with the state plan.

For rates effective on or after October 1, 2020, the total patient
days used in the computation of the nursing facility rates are
“COVID-19 occupancy adjusted” to account for the changes In nursing
facility occupancy during the COVID-19 event and the use of a
minimum occupancy rate of 87.50% (75%*90% plus 25% *80%). The total
patient days used for rate setting purposes applied to all rate
components except for Capital cost and Non-Emergency Medical
Transportation (NEMT) cost. The total patient days used for these
two cost categories are described in sections 11l C 7 and 111 C 10
of Attachment 4.19-D.

Total patient days are determined using a weighted average occupancy
rate as follows — 75% of the total patient days were based upon the
FYE September 30, 2019 occupancy rates while the remaining 25% of
the total patient days were based upon the May 2020 thru June 2020
occupancy rates. The weighted average occupancy rate of each nursing
facility was then applied to maximum bed days available during the
FYE 2019 cost reporting period to determine the total patient days
used for rate setting purposes prior to being subject to the minimum
occupancy adjustment. The total patient days were then compared to
minimum occupancy days determined at 87.50% and the greater of the
two amounts were used for October 1, 2020 rate setting purposes.
Medicaid rates for nursing facilities located in counties where the
county occupancy rate is less than 85% based upon the FYE 2019 cost
report information will use the following criteria.

SC: 20-0010

EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/01/20
RO APPROVED:3/23/21
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The SCDHHS will waive the 87.50% minimum occupancy requirement
used for rate setting purposes for those nursing facilities
located in counties whose occupancy is less than 85%. However,
standards will remain at the 90% minimum occupancy level.

The SCDHHS will calculate the affected nursing facilities’
Medicaid reimbursement rate based upon the greater of the nursing
facility’s COVID-19 occupancy adjusted total patient days or the
average of the county where the nursing facility is located.
However, the SCDHHS will not participate in establishing payment
rates using an occupancy rate of less than eighty-five percent
(85%) -

SC 20-0010

EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/01/20
RO APPROVED:3/23/21
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PROVIDER NAME: 0
PROVIDER NUMBER: 0
REPORTING PERIQD: 10/01/18 through  09/30/19 DATE EFF. 10/1/2020
RATE PERIOD: 10/1/2020 through  09/30/21
MAXIMUM BED DAYS:(less Complex Care) 0
PATIENT DAYS USED: 0 PATIENT DAYS INCURRED: 0
TOTAL PROVIDER BEDS: 0 ACTUAL OCCUPANCY %: 0.00%
% Skilled 0.000 PATIENT DAYS @ 0.00% 0

PATIENT DAYS INCURRED REPRESENT 25/75 BLEND OF MAY 2020 AND JUNE 2020 CENSUS DAYS
AND FYE SEPTEMBER 30, 2019 CENSUS DAYS, WITH BLENDED MINIMUM OCCUPANCY SET AT 87.5%.

COMPUTATION OF REIMBURSEMENT RATE - PERCENT SKILLED METHODOLOGY

PROFIT TOTAL COST COMPUTED
INCENTIVE ALLOW COS STANDARD RATE
COSTS SUBJECT TO STANDARDS:
GENERAL SERVICE 0.00 0.00
DIETARY 0.00 0.00
LAUNDRY/HOUSEKEEP ING/MAINT . 0.00 0.00
SUBTOTAL 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
ADMIN & MED REC 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
SUBTOTAL 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
COSTS NOT SUBJECT TO STANDARDS:
UTILITIES 0.00 0.00
SPECIAL SERVICES 0.00 0.00
MEDICAL SUPPLIES AND OXYGEN 0.00 0.00
TAXES AND INSURANCE 0.00 0.00
LEGAL COST 0.00 0.00
SUBTOTAL 0.00 0.00
GRAND TOTAL 0.00 0.00
INFLATION FACTOR 2.50% 0.00
COST OF CAPITAL 0.00
PROFIT INCENTIVE (MAX 3.5% OF ALLOWABLE COST) 3.50% 0.00
COST INCENTIVE - FOR GENERAL SERVICE, DIETARY, LHM 0.00
EFFECT OF CAP ON COST/PROFIT INCENTIVES $1.75 0.00
SUBTOTAL 0.00
NON-EMERGENCY MEDICAL TRANSPORTATION (NEMT) ADD-ON 0.00
COVID-19 EMPLOYEE TESTING ADD-ON FOR OCT. 1, 2020 THRU DEC. 31, 2020 0.00
REIMBURSEMENT RATE 0.00

[

SC 20-0010
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PROVIDER NAME: 0
PROVIDER NUMBER: 0
REPORTING PERIOD: 10/01/18 through  09/30/19 DATE EFF. 01/01/21
RATE PERIOD: 10/1/2020 through  09/30/21
MAXIMUM BED DAYS:(less Complex Care) 0
PATIENT DAYS USED: 0 PATIENT DAYS INCURRED: 0
TOTAL PROVIDER BEDS: 0 ACTUAL OCCUPANCY %: 0.00%
% Skilled 0.000% PATIENT DAYS @ 0.00% 0

PATIENT DAYS INCURRED REPRESENT 25/75 BLEND OF MAY 2020 AND JUNE 2020 CENSUS DAYS
AND FYE SEPTEMBER 30, 2019 CENSUS DAYS, WITH BLENDED MINIMUM OCCUPANCY SET AT 87.5%.

COMPUTATION OF REIMBURSEMENT RATE - PERCENT SKILLED METHODOLOGY

PROFIT TOTAL COST COMPUTED
INCENTIVE ALLOW COS STANDARD RATE
COSTS SUBJECT TO STANDARDS:
GENERAL SERVICE 0.00 0.00
DIETARY 0.00 0.00
LAUNDRY/HOUSEKEEPING/MAINT. 0.00 0.00
SUBTOTAL 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
ADMIN & MED REC 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
SUBTOTAL 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
COSTS NOT SUBJECT TO STANDARDS:
UTILITIES 0.00 0.00
SPECIAL SERVICES 0.00 0.00
MEDICAL SUPPLIES AND OXYGEN 0.00 0.00
TAXES AND INSURANCE 0.00 0.00
LEGAL COST 0.00 0.00
SUBTOTAL 0.00 0.00
GRAND TOTAL 0.00 0.00
INFLATION FACTOR 2.50% 0.00
COST OF CAPITAL 0.00
PROFIT INCENTIVE (MAX 3.5% OF ALLOWABLE COST) 3.50% 0.00
COST INCENTIVE - FOR GENERAL SERVICE, DIETARY, LHM 0.00
EFFECT OF CAP ON COST/PROFIT INCENTIVES $1.75 0.00
SUBTOTAL 0.00
NON-EMERGENCY MEDICAL TRANSPORTATION (NEMT) ADD-ON 0.00
REIMBURSEMENT RATE 0.00
SC 20-0010
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Effective October 1, 1995, for the purpose of establishing all cost center
standards, the facilities are grouped according to bed size. The bed groupings
are:
0 Through 60 Beds
61 Through 99 Beds
100 Plus Beds

B. General Services cost center standards will be computed using
private and non-state owned governmental free standing and hospital
based nursing facilities. All other cost center standards will be
computed using private for profit free standing nursing facilities.

A BRIEF DESCRIPTION ON THE CALCULATION OF ALL THE STANDARDS IS AS
FOLLOWS:

1. General Services:

a. Accumulate all allowable cost for the General Services
cost center (Nursing & Restorative) for all facilities
in each bed size.

b. Determine total patient days by multiplying total beds
for all facilities in each group by (365 x 90%).

c. Calculate the mean cost per patient day by dividing
total cost in (a) by total patient days in (b).

d. Calculate the standard by multiplying the mean by 110%
in order to account for COVID-19 occupancy issues.

e. The establishment of the General Services standard for
all nursing facilities (excluding state owned
facilities) will be based on the average of the
percentage of Medicaid Level A patients/total Medicaid
patients served. Rates effective on or after October 1,
2000 will be computed annually using nursing facility
utilization (including nursing facility days paid under
the Hospice Benefit) by patient acuity based upon the
preceding July 1 through June 30 data period. Effective
October 1, 2003, co-insurance days for dual eligibles
are excluded from the computation. Effective December
31, 2011, nursing Ffacility providers will no longer be
allowed to appeal its acuity level (i.e. percent
skilled) payment adjustment determination for any
current or future year payment rates. The General
Services standard for each separate facility will be
determined in relation to the percent of Level A
Medicaid patients served, 1i.e., the base standard
determination in (d.) above will be decreased as the
percent of Level A Medicaid patients is decreased and
increased as the percent of Level A Medicaid patients is
increased.

SC 20-0010

EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/01/20
RO APPROVED: 3/23/21
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Dietary; Laundry, Maintenance and Housekeeping;
Administration and Medical Records & Services: The
standard for each of these three cost categories is
calculated as follows:

a. Accumulate all allowable cost for each cost center for
all facilities In each bed size.

b. Total patient days are determined by taking maximum bed
days available from each bed group, subtracting complex
care days associated with each bed group, and
multiplying the net amount by 90%.

c. Calculate the mean cost per patient day by dividing
total cost in (a) by total patient days in (b).

d. Calculate the standard by multiplying the mean by 110%
in order to account for COVID-19 occupancy issues.

C. Rate Computation

Rates will be computed using the attached rate computation sheet
(see page 12) as follows:

1.

For each facility, determine allowable cost for the
following categories:

COST SUBJECT TO STANDARDS:

General Services

Dietary

Laundry, Maintenance and Housekeeping
Administration and Medical Records & Services

COST NOT SUBJECT TO STANDARDS:

Utilities

Special Services

Medical Supplies

Property Taxes and Insurance Coverage - Building and
Equipment

Legal Fees

Calculate actual allowable cost per day based on the cost
reports for each category by dividing allowable cost by
total patient days as determined under section 111 A of
Attachment 4.19-D.

For cost subject to standards, the lower of cost determined
in step 2 or the cost standard will be allowed in
determining the facility"s rates. Effective October 1,
1997, the General Services, Dietary, and Laundry,
Housekeeping, and Maintenance cost centers are combined.
Therefore, compare the sum of the allowable cost of these
three cost centers to the sum of these three cost
standards.

SC 20-0010

EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/01/20
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For costs not subject to standards, the cost determined in
step 2 will be allowed in determining the facility"s rate.

Accumulate per diem costs determined in steps 3 and 4.

Inflate the cost in step 5 by multiplying the cost in step
5, by the inflation factor. The maximum inflation factor
that can be used will be that provided by the State of
South Carolina Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office and is
determined as follows:

a. Proxy indices for each of the eleven major expenditure
components of nursing homes, (salaries, food, medical
supplies, etc.) during the third quarter of 2020 were
weighted by the expenditure weights of the long term
care fTacilities. These eleven weighted indices are
summed to one total proxy index for the third quarter of
2020.

b. Proxy indices are estimated for each of the eleven major
expenditure components of nursing homes, (salaries,
food, medical supplies, etc.), during the third quarter
of 2021 and then weighted by the same expenditure
weights as in step a. These weighted proxy indices were
summed to one total proxy index for the third quarter of
2021.

c. The percent change in the total proxy index during the
third quarter of 2020 (as calculated iIn step a), to the
total proxy index in the third quarter of 2021 (as
calculated in step b), was 2.50%. Effective October 1,
2020 the inflation factor used was 2.50%.

SC 20-0010

EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/01/20
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Effective for services provided on or after October 1,
2019, the Medicaid Agency will determine the facility
specific Non-Emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) Add-On
as follows:

. For nursing facilities that were not capped by
the NEMT transport trip criteria developed by
the agency to adjust for significant acuity and
utilization shifts observed in the type of NEMT
transports among some of the participants
residing in the nursing facility and employed in
the determination of the October 1, 2018 NEMT
add-ons, each facility’s October 1, 2020 NEMT
add-on will be determined based upon twelve
months of allowable Medicaid reimbursable NEMT
costs incurred from October 1, 2018 through
September 30, 2019 (FYE Sept. 30, 2019) divided
by the number of incurred FYE Sept. 30, 2019
Medicaid days as reported on provider cost
reports.

For nursing facilities that were capped by the
NEMT transport trip criteria developed by the
agency to adjust for significant acuity and
utilization shifts observed in the type of NEMT
transports among some of the participants
residing in the nursing facility and employed in
the determination of the October 1, 2018 NEMT
add-ons, each facility’s October 1, 2020 NEMT
add-on will be determined based upon the lower of
the NEMT add-on determined October 1, 2018 or
twelve months of allowable Medicaid reimbursable
NEMT costs incurred from October 1, 2018 through
September 30, 2019 (FYE Sept. 30, 2019) divided
by the number of incurred FYE Sept. 30, 2019
Medicaid days as reported on provider cost
reports.

In its” continuation of providing SC Medicaid contracting
nursing facilities with financial assistance related to
COVID-19 employee testing costs based upon federal
guidelines, the Medicaid Agency will provide for a new
COVID-19 add-on effective October 1, 2020. The COVID-19
add-on will be determined based upon FYE 2019 nursing
facility adjusted FTEs per the Medicare cost reports,
weekly testing of employees (i.e. 52 tests per year)
throughout the year, a unit testing cost of $75.00, and the
use of COVID-19 adjusted total patient days as defined in
section 111 A of Attachment 4.19-D. This COVID-19 add-on
will be subject to cost justification and only overpayments
will be recouped. The COVID-19 add-on will only be
effective for services incurred from October 1, 2020 thru
December 31, 2020. Effective for services incurred on and
after January 1, 2021, the COVID-19 add-on will be
eliminated and nursing facilities will be required to enter
into an arrangement with the Medical University Hospital
Authority (MUHA) for employee COVID-19 testing. The SCDHHS
will then reimburse the MUHA directly for Medicaid’s share
of the nursing facility’s COVID-19 employee testing costs.

SC 20-0010
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For rates effective October 1, 2020, the Medicaid
reimbursement rate will be the total of costs accumulated
in step 5, inflation, cost of capital, cost
incentive/profit, NEMT Add-On per diem, and COVID-19 add-on
per diem.

For rates effective January 1, 2021, the Medicaid
reimbursement rate will be the total of costs accumulated
in step 5, inflation, cost of capital, cost
incentive/profit, and NEMT add-on per diem.

SC 20-0010
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K. Upper Payment Limit Calculation

Private Nursing Facility Services

The following methodology is used to estimate the upper payment
limit applicable to privately owned or operated nursing facilities
(i.e. for profit and non-governmental nonprofit facilities):

The most recently filed FYE Medicare nursing facility cost report
serves as the base year cost report to be used for Medicaid UPL
demonstrations. In order to determine the Medicare allowable cost
per patient day (i.e. upper payment limit), the SCDHHS will:

(1) Access the most recent and available CMS cost based UPL
template for SC Medicaid UPL demonstration purposes.

(2) Gather each nursing facility’s Medicare Routine Cost Per Diem
from worksheet D-1, Part I, Column 1, Line 16.

(3) Determine and calculate the adjustments that would impact the
Medicare Routine Cost Per Diem. This adjustment reflects the
per diem costs of the ancillary services which are covered by
the SC Medicaid nursing facility per diem rate which includes,
but is not limited to, PT, OT, ST, Medical Supplies, Specialty
Beds, and etc. The covered ancillary service costs are
accumulated by each nursing facility and divided by total
incurred patient days as reported on worksheet S-3, Part 1,
Column 7, Line 1 to arrive at the covered SC Medicaid
ancillary per diem adjustment.

(4) To determine the Total Medicare Cost Per Diem, add the
Medicare Routine Cost Per Diem in step (2) above to the
covered SC Medicaid ancillary per diem adjustment as reflected
in step (3) above to arrive at the Total Medicare Cost Per
Diem.

(5) To trend the Total Medicare Cost Per Diem to the UPL
demonstration period, the Medicaid Agency will employ the
midpoint to midpoint trending methodology using the Global
Insight CMS Nursing Home without Capital Market Basket Index
in order to trend the base year cost to the Medicaid rate
period.

() To remove the impact of the COVID-19 add-on, gather each nursing
facility’s January 1, 2021 Medicaid per diem rate as the sole rate used
for the Medicaid UPL demonstration period.

(7) In order to adjust for items which are paid outside of the
Medicaid per diem rates but have been included as an allowable
cost in the determination of the Medicare Routine Cost Per
Diems as described in step (2) above, a Medicaid rate per diem
adjustment will be determined. Costs relating to CNA training
and testing, Hurricane Dorian evacuation costs, and
professional liability claims will be accumulated for each
individual nursing facility and then be divided by the number
of total patient days used to determine the Medicaid per diem
rate as described in (6) above.

SC: 20-0010
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(8) To determine the Total Adjusted Medicaid per diem rate, add
the Medicaid Per Diem in step (6) above to the SC Medicaid
rate per diem adjustment as reflected in step (7) above.

(9) Medicaid paid days (excluding NF days paid for recipients
while under the Hospice Benefit) based upon the most recently
completed state fiscal year are applied to the Total Adjusted
Medicaid per diem rate as defined in (8) above and the Total
Adjusted Medicare Cost Per Diem as described in step (4) above
to arrive at the annual Medicaid payments for each provider as
well as the annual Total Adjusted Medicare Cost expenditures
for each provider.

(10) The annual Total Adjusted Medicare Cost expenditures and the
annual Medicaid rate expenditures for all providers within the
class are summed to determine the aggregate payments for each
class.

(11) The Medicaid UPL compliance check is determined by comparing
the aggregate amounts as determined in (9) above to ensure
that Total Adjusted Medicare Cost expenditures are equal to or
greater than Medicaid rate expenditures. In the event that
aggregate Medicaid rate expenditures exceed aggregate Total
Adjusted Medicare Cost expenditures, the Medicaid rate for
each facility will be limited to the Total Medicare Cost Per
Diem as determined in (4) above.

Due to the mandatory evacuation ordered by Governor McMaster
of South Carolina in regards to Hurricane Dorian, the
following nursing facilities may receive a singular private
nursing facility UPL payment equating to Medicaid’s share of
its allowable Medicaid reimbursable evacuation related costs.
In the determination of allowable Medicaid reimbursable
evacuation costs, any insurance proceeds received by the
impacted nursing Tacilities that relate to the residents’
evacuation must be offset against the evacuation costs claimed
for payment. Nursing Tfacilities that may qualify for this
payment include those located within the specified evacuation
zones of each of the following coastal areas - Northern South
Carolina Coast (Horry County and Georgetown County Evacuation
Zone A); Central South Carolina Coast (Charleston County -
Evacuation Zones A, B, and C; Dorchester County - Evacuation
Zone D; Berkeley County - Evacuation Zones B, G, H, and 1);
Southern Coast (Colleton County — Evacuation Zones A and Bj;
Beaufort County - Evacuation Zone A; Jasper County -—
Evacuation Zone A :
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Bayview Manor, Life Care Center of Hilton Head, NHC of
Bluffton, Heartland Charleston at Hanahan, Life Care
Center of Charleston, Mt. Pleasant Manor, Riverside Health
and Rehab., Sandpiper Rehab. & Nursing, West Ashley Rehab &
Nursing Center, White Oak Manor — Charleston, Oakbrook
Health & Rehab., Blue Ridge in Georgetown, Prince George
Healthcare.

The sum of the private UPL payments will not exceed the
upper payment limit calculated under the FFY 2021 private
nursing facility UPL demonstration.

Non-State Owned Governmental Nursing Facility

The following methodology is used to estimate the annual upper
payment limit applicable to non-state owned governmental
nursing facilities:

The three most recent quarterly nursing facility UPL payments
paid during the preceding federal fiscal year serves as the
base data used for the annual Medicaid UPL demonstration for
this ownership class and is described below:

(1) Calculated Medicare upper payment limits for the December,
March, and June quarters of the preceding federal fiscal
year are determined in accordance with the Essential Public
Safety Net Nursing Facility Payment Program as described in
Section I111(K) of Attachment 4.19-D. Additionally, the
Medicaid paid days associated with each quarter are
identified via MMIS and exclude hospice days.

(2) To estimate the calculated Medicare upper payment limit for
the September quarter, the payments for the three preceding
quarters are summed and divided by three for each nursing
facility. The estimated Medicaid paid days for the
September quarter are also determined using the same
methodology.

(3) The calculated quarterly Medicare upper payment limits
identified in (1) above are added to the estimated
September quarter Medicare upper payment [limit as
identified in step (2) to determine the annual estimated
Medicare upper payment limit for the preceding federal
fiscal year for each nursing facility. Annual estimated
Medicaid paid days for the preceding federal fiscal year
are also determined using the same methodology.
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(€D Qualifications

In order to qualify for a supplemental payment as an Essential Public Safety Net
nursing facility, a nursing facility must meet all of the following criteria:

a) The nursing facility is a non-state owned governmental nursing
facility in which the operator of the nursing facility is also
the owner of the nursing facility assets;

b) The nursing facility is located in the State of South Carolina;

c) The nursing facility is licensed as a nursing facility by the
State of South Carolina and is a current Medicaid provider;

(@) Upper Payment Limit Calculation

The upper payment limit effective for services beginning on and after
October 1, 2011 for Essential Public Safety Net nursing facilities will
be calculated using the Medicaid frequency distribution of all licensed
South Carolina non-state owned governmental nursing facilities which
contract with the South Carolina Medicaid Program. This frequency
distribution will be determined using the Medicaid MDS assessments
completed during the period which corresponds with the quarterly upper
payment limit payment period (e.g. October 1 through December 31 and
January 1 through March 31, etc.). The results of each nursing
facility’s Medicaid frequency distribution will then be applied to the
total Medicaid patient days (excludes hospice room and board Medicaid
patient days and coinsurance days) paid to the nursing facility during
each federal fiscal year beginning October 1, 2011 in order to allocate
the Medicaid days across the Medicare RUG IV categories. The applicable
Medicare rates for the payment year for each RUG category will be
applied against the Medicaid days for each RUG category, and then
summed, to determine the maximum upper payment limit to be used in the
determination of the Essential Public Safety Net nursing facility
payments.

Due to Medicare’s conversion from the RUGS-1V payment methodology to the
Patient Driven Payment Model for Medicare Part A skilled nursing facility
services effective October 1, 2019, the Medicaid Agency will increase the
October 1, 2018 Medicare RUGS-1V payment rates by the average annual
increase in Medicare rates per the FY 2020 and FY 2021 Final Rule. The
adjusted Medicare rates will then be used in the calculation of the
quarterly Essential Public Safety Net Nursing Facility payments effective
for services provided on and after October 1, 2020.

In order to adjust for program differences between the Medicare and
Medicaid payment programs, the SCDHHS will calculate Medicaid payments
in accordance with Section K(3)(b) of the plan.

A Payment Methodology

The South Carolina Department of Health and Human Services will make a
supplemental Medicaid payment in addition to the standard nursing
facility reimbursement to qualifying Essential Public Safety Net
nursing facilities. Such payments will be made quarterly based on
Medicaid patient days paid during the payment period. The payment
methodology is as follows:

a. The upper payment limit for all licensed South Carolina
non-state owned governmental nursing facilities which
contract with the South Carolina Medicaid Program will
be computed as described under section K(11)(2) above.
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) Next, the Medicaid ICF/I1ID per diem cost as determined
in step (1) above for each facility is then trended. The
Medicaid Agency will employ the use of the midpoint to
midpoint trending methodology using the Global Insight
CMS Nursing Home without Capital Market Basket Index in
order to trend the base year cost to the UPL
demonstration period.

(€)) Next, in order to adjust the trended ICF/I1D cost per
diems as determined in step (2) above to include the
cost impact of the state fiscal year end June 30, 2018,
June 30, 2019, and June 30, 2020 legislatively directed
and funded direct care worker salary increases, the
Medicaid Agency will further trend the per diems by
11.05% for Community ICF/IIDs and by 14.67% for
Institutional ICF/11Ds. These percentages were
determined by taking the aggregate cost impact
associated with the direct care worker salary increase
of each class of ICF/1IDs and dividing these amounts by
the aggregate total costs incurred by each class of
ICF/11Ds using the most recently filed cost reports. To
determine trended Medicaid ICF/IID cost for each ICF/IID
for the UPL demonstration period, the individual trended
per diem cost rate is multiplied by the base year
Medicaid incurred patient days which is obtained via
MMIS.

(€)) Total annual projected Medicaid ICF/I1ID revenue of each
facility for the UPL demonstration period is determined
by averaging the July 1, 2019 Medicaid payment rates of
each ICF/1ID facility and multiplying the average rate
by the facility’s base year Medicaid incurred patient
days which is obtained via MMIS.

) The Medicaid UPL compliance check is determined for this
class by comparing the aggregate amounts as determined
in step (3) above to ensure that projected Medicaid
ICF/1ID cost is equal to or greater than projected
Medicaid ICF/1ID rate expenditures in step (4). In the
event that aggregate Medicaid ICF/11D rate expenditures
exceed aggregate Medicaid ICF/1ID cost, the Medicaid
ICF/1ID rate for each facility will be limited to the
Medicaid cost based rate as determined in (3) above.

V. State Owned Governmental Nursing Facility Service Providers

The following methodology is used to estimate the upper payment
limit applicable to state owned/operated nursing facilities:

The most recently filed FYE Medicare nursing facility cost report
serves as the base year cost report to be used for Medicaid UPL
demonstrations. In order to determine the Medicare allowable cost
per patient day (i.e. upper payment limit), the SCDHHS will:

(@D Access the most recent and available CMS cost based UPL
template for SC Medicaid UPL demonstration purposes.
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Gather each nursing facility’s Medicare Routine Cost Per
Diem from worksheet D-1, Part I, Column 1, Line 16.

Determine and calculate the adjustments that would
impact the Medicare Routine Cost Per Diem. This
adjustment reflects the per diem costs of the ancillary
services which are covered by the SC Medicaid nursing
facility per diem rate which includes, but is not
limited to, PT, OT, ST, Medical Supplies, Specialty
Beds, and etc. The covered ancillary service costs are
accumulated by each nursing facility and divided by
total incurred patient days as reported on worksheet S-
3, Part 1, Column 7, Line 1 to arrive at the covered SC
Medicaid ancillary per diem adjustment.

To determine the Total Medicare Cost Per Diem, add the
Medicare Routine Cost Per Diem in step (2) above to the
covered SC Medicaid ancillary per diem adjustment as
reflected in step (3) above to arrive at the Total
Medicare Cost Per Diem.

To trend the Total Medicare Cost Per Diem to the UPL
demonstration period, the Medicaid Agency will employ
the midpoint to midpoint trending methodology using the
Global Insight CMS Nursing Home without Capital Market
Basket Index in order to trend the base year cost to the
Medicaid rate period.

Gather each nursing facility’s Medicaid per diem rate
that is in effect during the Medicaid UPL demonstration
period.

In order to adjust for items which are paid outside of
the Medicaid per diem rates but have been included as an
allowable cost in the determination of the Medicare
Routine Cost Per Diems as described in step (2) above, a
Medicaid rate per diem adjustment will be determined.
Costs relating to CNA training and testing, Hurricane
Dorian evacuation costs, and professional liability
claims will be accumulated for each individual nursing
facility and then be divided by the number of total
patient days used to determine the Medicaid per diem
rate as described in (6) above.

To determine the Total Adjusted Medicaid per diem rate,
add the Medicaid Per Diem in step (6) above to the SC
Medicaid rate per diem adjustment as reflected in step
(7) above.

Medicaid paid days (excluding NF days paid for
recipients while under the Hospice Benefit) based upon
the most recently completed state fiscal year are
applied to the Total Adjusted Medicaid per diem rate as
defined in (8) above and the Total Adjusted Medicare
Cost Per Diem as described in step (4) above to arrive
at the annual Medicaid payments for each provider as
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well as the annual Total Adjusted Medicare Cost
expenditures for each provider.

The annual Total Adjusted Medicare Cost expenditures and
the annual Medicaid rate expenditures for all providers
within the class are summed to determine the aggregate
payments for each class.

The Medicaid UPL compliance check is determined by
comparing the aggregate amounts as determined in (9)
above to ensure that Total Adjusted Medicare Cost
expenditures are equal to or greater than Medicaid rate
expenditures. In the event that aggregate Medicaid rate
expenditures exceed aggregate Total Adjusted Medicare
Cost expenditures, the Medicaid rate for each facility
will be limited to the Total Medicare Cost Per Diem as
determined in (4) above.

L. Payment Assistance

The Medicaid Agency will pay each Provider of nursing care services,
who furnishes the services in accordance with the requirements of
the State Plan, the amount determined for services furnished by the
Provider under the Plan according to the methods and standards set
in Section 111 of this attachment.

forth

M. Upper Limits

1. The Medicaid Agency will not pay more than the provider"s

customary charge for private-pay patients except governmental
facilities that provide services free or at a nominal charge.
These facilities will be reimbursed on a reasonable cost

related basis.

An

limitation on coverage of cost published under 42 CFR
413.30 and_413.35 will be applied to payments for long-term
care facility services.
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Legal Fees

For rates effective October 1, 2006, allowable Medicaid
reimbursable costs include reasonable legal fees arising from
normal day-to-day business activities related to patient care as
defined in HIM-15. Any legal fees recognized as allowable
Medicaid costs must be demonstrated to be necessary for the
efficient delivery of needed health care services provided by the
facility.

Additionally, retainer fees would not be considered an allowable
cost.

Travel

Patient care related travel will be recognized in accordance with
South Carolina state employees per diem and travel regulations.
Out-of-state travel will be limited to the 48 states located
within the continental United States. Further, such out-of-state
travel must be either the reasonable allocable portion of cost
for chain facilities with out-of-state offices; or (1) be for the
purpose of meeting continuing education requirements and (2) must
be to participate in seminars or meetings that are approved for
that purpose by the South Carolina Board of Examiners for Nursing
Home Administrators. Allowable cost for attendance at out-of-
state meetings and seminars will be limited to two trips per year
per facility. Also, out-of-state travel does not include travel
to counties bordering the State of South Carolina. Effective for
July 1, 1990 payment rates, travel to the following states/areas
are treated as in-state travel, and thus are not subject to the
limits on out-of-state travel: Georgia, North Carolina,
Washington D.C., and Baltimore, Maryland.

Director Fees

Director fees and costs associated with attending board meetings
or other top management responsibilities will not be allowed.
However travel to and from the directors meetings will be allowed
at the per mile rate for state employees and will be limited to
in-state travel.
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0-60 BEDS 61-99 BEDS 100+ BEDS
JOB TITLE MAX ALLOWED MAX ALLOWED MAX ALLOWED
ANNUAL SALARY | ANNUAL SALARY | ANNUAL SALARY
DIRECTOR OF NURSING (DON) $79,326 $83,994 $104,532
"RN $59,998 $60,784 $64,072
"LPN $48,966 $48,966 $51,152
CNA $24,823 $24,823 $26,520
SOCIAL SERVICES DIRECTOR $40,671 $42,263 $52,552
SOCIAL SERVICES ASSISTANT $34,731 $34,731 $40,586
ACTIVITY DIRECTOR $33,691 $34,561 $37,531
ACTIVITY ASSISTANT $22,468 $22,913 $25,078
DIETARY SUPERVISOR $41,265 $45,657 $56,350
"DIETARY WORKER $20,177 $21,385 $24,229
"LAUNDRY SUPERVISOR $29,681 $29,681 $29,681
"LAUNDRY WORKER $17,949 $19,731 $22,022
"HOUSEKEEPING SUPERVISOR $29,321 $35,367 $39,207
"HOUSEKEEPING WORKER $18,733 $19,668 $21,407
"MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR $39,122 $43,705 $51,788
MAINTENANCE WORKER $28,578 $28,684 $32,058
ADMINISTRATOR $91,547 $103,237 $134,213
ASSISTANT ADMINISTRATOR $66,957 $79,517 $79,517
BOOKKEEPER / BUSINESS MGR $46,208 $46,208 $48,669
SECRETARY / RECEPTIONIST $28,981 $29,278 $30,636
MEDICAL RECORDS SECRETARY $36,916 $36,916 $36,916
Note: State employee pay increase of 2% effective 07/01/19
SC 20-0010
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G) ALLOWABLE COMPENSATION RANGES FOR OWNERS AND/OR THEIR RELATIVES
EMPLOYED BY PARENT COMPANIES:

% - CEO
Compensatio 100-257
JOB TITLE n 0-60 BEDS |61-99 BEDS BEDS 258 + BEDS

see nh 130%* 100+

admin. admin.
CEO Guidelines $91,547 | $103,237 | $134,213 |Guidelines|$174,476
ASST CEO
CONTROLLER
CORPORATE SECRETARY
CORPORATE TREASURER
IATTORNEY 75% $68,660 $77,428 | $100,659 $130,857
IACCOUNTANT
BUSINESS MGR
PURCHASING AGENT
REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
REGIONAL V-P
REGIONAL EXECUTIVE 70% $64,083 $72,266 $93,949 $122,133
CONSULTANTS:
SOCIAL
ACTIVITY
DIETARY (RD)
PHYSICAL THER (RPT)
MEDICAL RECORDS (RRA)
NURSING (BSRN) 65% $59,506 $67,104 $87,238 $113,409
SECRETARIES see nh $28,981 $29,278 $30,636 $30,636
BOOKKEEPERS see nh $46,208 $46,208 $48,669 $48,669
MEDICAL DIRECTOR 90% $82,392 $92,914 | $120,791 157,028

**NOTE: there are no home offices in the 0-60 bed group

Note:
1.

State employee pay increase of 2% effective 07/01/19.

The above are maximum limits of allowable cost for owners
and/or relatives who are actually performing these duties
100% of a normal work week. Part-time performance will be
computed accordln% to time spent. No individual will have
more than one full time e3U|valent (40 hour per week) job
recognized in the Medicaid program.

No assistant operating executive will be authorized for a
chain with 257 beds or less.
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